Is Your Channel Partner Dashboard Flashing “Maintenance Required”?

March 4, 2009 at 5:00 am 1 comment

Sandra Glaser Cheek

Sandra Glaser Cheek

I recently took my 2006 Honda Odyssey into the mechanic because as I was driving to work the dashboard light indicators were lighting up like a Christmas tree. It began with a bright red brake indicator, next came the oil light, then “maintenance required”, and finally some random light I still don’t know the meaning of. So, I started thinking – can I even make it to the mechanic, should I call a tow truck, will I miss my meeting? Not to mention that this will undoubtedly mean, ka-ching – an unanticipated expense!

This experience got me thinking about our business. What if I just ignored my dashboard? I mean, yes the indicators were on but the car was actually running and sounding fine. In the old days when I drove my 1980 hand-me-down Chevy Citation, there weren’t any sensors on the dashboard. I just drove the car until, well, it broke down – and trust me I got more than my fair share of that back in “the old days.” However, today’s cars are fine-tuned, high-tech machines with lots of thing-a-ma-jigs that make sure I can brake to a stop faster, I won’t get as hurt in an accident, I get better mileage, etc. So yes, I could probably still drive “old school” like I did in my younger days and ignore the flashing dashboard. But at what cost?

Remember the Chevy Citation?

Remember the Chevy Citation?

What would be the cost of breaking down on the way to a meeting and missing a final client presentation?  What’s the cost of an inefficient engine burning more expensive fuel? What’s the cost of me flying through my windshield because of an airbag malfunction, or my ABS brakes disengaging? You get the picture.

Are you collecting and using your partner data in a way that helps you make meaningful business decisions, or are you driving “old school” and ignoring the signals? On our last month – Six Steps to an Effective Partner Portal – we were astounded by the data from one of the on-line polls.  Less than 50% of the participants reported they have a dashboard or system to measure Partner Portal effectiveness.   As the old saying goes, “You can’t measure what you don’t know, but you also have to be clear about what you want to know.”

If you are looking for good examples of dashboards and reporting tools, take a tour of PartnerPath, our hosted partner automation solution. By providing real-time qualitative and quantitative data about partner performance, our clients report it helps them make better decisions and avoid costly mistakes.  You can also check out some of our briefs and whitepapers about this topic on Amazon Consulting’s Resource Center.

So, what’s the cost of a channel organization driving “old school” in today’s high speed, quick to react, snowballing-crisis-friendly world that we live in now?  This isn’t he Chevy Citation world of our youth.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Entry filed under: Partnering Tips, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

The Quality vs. Quantity Debate: Starbucks as a Case Study in Regional Coverage vs. Quality of Service HELPING THE SMB CUSTOMER – NOT BUSINESS AS USUAL

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Brett Harkey  |  April 14, 2009 at 3:08 am

    Hey Sandra! I still drive old school even in my new Honda Pilot!
    Did you really have a Chevy Citation…I don’t remember that!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other followers

Recent Posts

Share This Blog

Share

Categories

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

